Gareth Johnson takes oath of allegiance


Date: Friday 21st May 2010

Gareth Johnson was returned as the new Member of Parliament for Dartford with a majority of 10,628.

Pictured is Gareth taking the oath of allegiance to the Queen.

All MPs must take the oath of allegiance to the Queen before they can take their seat in the House of Commons or vote in any division. Most MPs will take the oath before the Queen formally opens Parliament.

Editors’ notes:

The oath is a traditional part of the process of MPs taking their seat. Sein Fein MPs famously refuse to swear allegiance to the Queen and therefore do not take their seats in Westminster.

More information can be found here: