Dartford MP welcomes Delay Repay 15 compensation scheme for Southeastern passengers

Dartford MP Gareth Johnson has welcomed the news that Delay Repay 15 has now started on Southeastern trains.

The improved compensation scheme means that passengers who are faced with a delay of 15 minutes or more can claim a refund for part of their ticket instead of after a 30-minute or more delay, which used to apply.

The scheme came into force on September 11th.

Mr Johnson said: “I am really pleased to see this scheme has finally come into force in Dartford. Getting Delay Repay 15 on Southeastern trains is something I have been asking the Government to implement for a number of years.  I hope this change will lead to less delays on our trains and a better service for people in Dartford. Passengers in Dartford must be able to rely on the service and this scheme, which means people can claim compensation after a delay of 15 minutes instead of 30 minutes, will mean the train operator must do all it can to ensure services are on time.

We know that since the introduction of Oyster in Dartford in September 2015, the number of passengers using rail services to and from the station has increased significantly and I hope this latest change will encourage more people to use the rail services available.

Having modern trains, with smart ticketing options and a reliable service is imperative for people who commute to and from Dartford and if the service is cancelled or delayed, rail users should be fairly compensated. Too many times we have seen trains delayed by 20-25 minutes without passengers being able to do anything about it, this will change that.”